The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Great achievements are born out of collective effort. An integral component of any collective effort is the camaraderie between individuals that make up the team. Although, there is a formally assigned leader, I would like to think that everyone in the team is a leader, because each individual owns up to the task that is assigned to them and execute it to the best of their capabilities. This inherent quality of leadership is moulded over time and the society plays a vital role in nurturing it. In my opinion, a society that instills a sense of cooperation over mutual competition in its population of young people has better prospect in terms of candidates for leadership roles in government, industry or other fields.

My reasons for making this claim are twofold. Firstly, excess competition can lead to hostility and distrust among peers. For instance, when you are directly competing with a person, say for an exam, you tend to hoard key information to yourself and not share with others. But, sharing information can actually be of benefit to all the parties since each person will have something unique to offer and each can take home a learning that weren't aware of before, thereby improving the chances of doing better in the exam.

Secondly, when you are working in projects, you work in teams. And, when working in a team or working across teams, differences in opinion are bound to happen. In such scenarios, having the skills to cooperate by listening to the viewpoints of all the involved entities and arriving at a solution that is sensible and equitable will result in a quicker and faster execution of the project.

Although a small amount of competition is healthy in helping pushing the boundaries of each individual to arrive at a better end product, the advantages provided by working with cooperation overweighs this advantage. In conclusion, a sense of cooperation goes a long way in achieving the objectives of a project in a work environment.