The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. "

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director suggests that a greater share of the Movie Production Company's budget the following year should be focused on advertisements. He states that fewer peole are coming to movies and that movie-goers are not aware of the reviews or movies. There are a couple of questions to consider before determining if a focus in advertisements is the route to take.

First, is this year like any other past year? Perphaps there is a recession during this current year and regular movie-goers aren't able to make it to the movies as much as they would like to this year. It is also possible that people are just more busy and have other activities that they need to attend to. Maybe even movies just aren't quite as popular as they once were. Times change, therefore we can't assume that this year is just like any other past year. So if any of these prove to be true then the conclusion of the director is weakened.

Second, are the movies that the company is producing for all ages? There is a chance that Super Screen movies this year are targeting a specific audience. Maybe they are only creating adult movies that do not allow children to attend them. Vice versa, it is also possible that they unintentionally only produced movies that were for younger kids, that even parents didn't gain an interest to watch them. Perphaps the movies would've been more popular if they were more family friendly and appealed to a more vast audience. If any of these statements are accurate, then the argument is in question.

At this point in time, the directors argument, as stands, is flawed. The director needs to provide more evidence in order to prove their conclusion more sound. If more evidence is given, than we can further evaluate this conclusion.