The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Preparing young people for leadership in various capacities in this world is very important. The prompt suggests that youth should be prepared for leadership positions through instilling a sense of cooperation in them, rather than a sense of competition. I mostly agree that cooperation in a leadership position will help prepare youth for the following three reasons.

First, if people are not taught to be more competitive then they most likely will not be as diligent. If there is no competitive spirit, then each person fighting for a certain leadership position might not strive to do what it takes in order to achieve that postition. For example, if there were no competition within the presedential race, than there might not be new ideas and reasoning for a new candidate to run in the race. Competition brings out a spirit in people that pushes them to be better. Therefore, it would be important to have a sense of competition.

Second, instilling in people a sense of cooperation will help them become more likeable and gain more support as leaders. When President Obama ran for president, many of his supporters came from him being a likeable person. He was kind and addressed needs that everyone felt were important. As people learn to be more cooperative, it can in turn cause others to support them and be more willing to befriend them.

Last, leaders who are more cooperative will help create an environment of unity. Those in leadership that cooperate with others essentially work well with others and help others around them feel important. Just like in team sports, if the captain includes others in his ideas and plans, than other players will be on the same page and will help execute the plan. This cooperation within a team unit creates a feeling of unity that results in a winning environment that helps the team to succeed. Cooperation within leadership capacties will help various fields to improve in different aspects.

Overall, this is a complex issue that is rather difficult to address. There are both benefits to being both competive and cooperative. I mostly agree that cooperation within a leadership capacity will help prepare youth for these postitions and will benefits them in different ways.