The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Recently, the late-night news program realized that it has devoted more time to national news and less time to weather and local news which has led local businesses to cancel their advertising contracts with the news program. Regarding this issue, the author of the argument concludes that in order for the program to attract more viewers, it has to restore the time time devoted to weather and local news. The manager presents evidence to suggest this is valid including the numerous complaints he has received from viewers and the fact that business have canceled their advertising contracts with the news program. Though the underlying issues may have merit, because of a lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

The manager mentions that many local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with the program. This assumption lies on the fact that they canceled their contracts because the program stopped devoting time to weather and local news. What if that is not the case? The local businesses could have canceled their contracts because they feel that the news program does not represent their values or that they are not able to advertise their products anymore. There could be a major financial crisis and the local businesses do not have sufficient capital and are forced to cut back on costs and therefore stop advertising their products on the television.

The manager mentions that most of the complaints that they received from viewers were concerned with the program's coverage of weather and local news. What exactly does the manager mean by "most"? What if the complaints were concerned with the news program's broadcasting material. For example, the program could have been broadcasting news that were inappropriate or offending viewers. The news program could have been covering irrelevant news that were not as important as something else that was happening in the world at that time. The manager's definition of "most" could be flawed and the complaints might actually be addressing another possible issue with the news program.

However, there might be some merit to the manager's argument. If the manager conducts thorough research into the reasons why advertising companies have cancelled their contracts with the news program and finds out that the businesses have indeed cancelled their contracts due to the news program's lack of weather and local news coverage, then the news program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. Also, if the manager carefully reviews the complaints that his news program received and concludes that more than 50% of them focused on the lack of weather and news coverage, then his viewers were indeed concerned with the program's broadcasting material.

In conclusion, the manager's argument relies on too many assumptions and flaws in reasoning in order to be considered acceptable. If the author completes the necessary actions in the aforementioned paragraph, his argument would have more merit.