A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Requiring all students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college is a controversial decision which I believe has numerous flaws. I think that students should be given the flexibility to pursue subjects which are interesting to them and which allow them to explore their talents. For example, forcing all students to study a set curriculum would put students with disabilities at a disadvantage. Not only that but also students who have talents which are outside the defined curriculum such as pupils with musical or artistic capabilities will also suffer. Enforcing a predefined curriculum to all students in a nation would narrow the skill set of the country's future labor force which will lead to less creativity in the workplace.

Students with disabilities would suffer the most from this proposed plan because they are unable to perform the tasks that normal students can. For instance, a student with dyslexia will have difficulties writing essays during his Literature class and will be disadvantaged compared to his fellow students. Another example would be an autistic student who would have difficulty completing group projects due to his inability to communicate with the other pupils. A disadvantaged student in a wheelchair would find it hard to play football or other sports during his Physical Education class. All these examples demonstrate the flaws in the proposed plan.

Furthermore, students with different talents will also suffer in a similar way. For example, pupils with musical talents will not be able to practice their craft if there is no class in Music. The same example could be applied to students with artistic abilities who without any Art classes will be unable to practice their talents and fulfill their potential.

In general, this proposed plan will narrow the skill set of future students by creating a workforce with inflexible skills that will be incapable of adapting to the changing working environment. If all of the students that enter college have similar abilities and talents due to the curriculum, college admissions will not be able to differentiate candidates for their programs. Not only will students have the same skillset but they will also lack essential skills such as thinking outside the box and practising their creative talents which are fundamental in the current working environment. Some might say that the curriculum would provide students with a general understanding of the skills required before entering college and after that they will be able to explore other subjects or areas of interest upon arriving at university. However, this argument does have some merit but it is flawed because certain skills such as playing on a musical instrument should be practised at a very young age.

In conclusion, I believe that enforcing a national curriculum with predefined subjects to all students in a country is wrong because it does not take into consideration the following factors: students with disabilities will have difficulty adapting to this new curriculum, students with artistic talents will have their abilities dampened and this creation of a narrow skill set will disadvantage all students when they decide to enter college and pursue their interests.