The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memo, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company assumes that the publics lack of awareness of good quality movies are available is the sole cause of low reports of people attending Super Screen produced movies. However, this is not true and many questions arise in order to evlauate the integrity of the authors recommendation. These questions include how was the report taken that showed a low attendance at Super Screen productions, as well as the decrease in the number of people in attendance and by how much did the positive reviews increase in the past year.

Firstly, if the number of people in the report that showed fewer people attended Super Screen movies came out to be around two people, this stands to reason that it would not be enough evidence to allocate a greater share of the budget to advertising. This assumption is a sampling error. Also, how and where was the report taken would be a critical question to ask in order to evaluate the author's argument. If the report was taken at an amusement park, where people don't go to watch movies and the availability of movie theaters that show Super Screen produced movies are minuscule the author's argument would be largely skewed to benefit their own argument. People will, of course, say that they have not attended a Super Screen movie because of the fact there is no movie theater around them that shows these movies. In order to fix this author's argument, one can say an increase in advertising is needed to show where these movies are located so that more people can go watch them in their respective movie theaters not because the public lacks awareness of good quality movies are out there. More specifically where these movies are located is more important for this argument.

Secondly, how much did the positive movie reviews increase by is another important question to ask. If the number of positive reviews increased by three percent, this is not a means of increasing the budget for advertising. This number would be too low to show that Super Screen produced movies are of good quality. Also asking which specific movies were these movies reviewed on would be another important question. Including positive reviews for specific movies that does show that all Super Screen produced movies are of high quality. The author may have only chosen specific movies where movie reviewers were positively reviewing the movies. If this were the case the recommendation to increase the advertising budget would be largely skewed. There will of course be an increase in positive movie reviews for those specific movies were of good quality. The bad quality movies would detract moviegoers from seeing these movies because of negative reviews. Thus it is important to find out why there was an increase in positive movie reviews across the board for all Super Screen produced movies not just for specific ones. This would show that all Super Screen movies are of good quality not the specific ones mentioned in the memo.

Finally, by asking the number of people attending Super Screen movies decreased as well by how much as the number of positive reivews increased will t