The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A true working and functional society is only efficient when people are collectively working together in a team. Instilling a sense of cooperation is far better than competition is by far the best way for a soceity to prepare its young people for leadership in different fields. This is seen through the examples of giant music cooperations such as Gibson and Epiphone and the cooperation between musicians Matthew Bellamy and Tom Yorke.

Firstly, Instilling a sesne of cooperation into the young people of a society will show that two minds are always better than a competiting one. The sharing of ideas between two people tantamounts a collection of plentiful ideas. Two competing minds can bring about less than effective ideas. This is seen through the guitar companies Gibson and Epiphone. In the 1950's both of these guitar companies were in a constant battle over the consumer population, trying to garner as many consumers for their elegant guitars. Both of these companies were struggling to produce the number of sales they hoped for and almost reached a point of bankruptcy. It wasn't until the 1960's that both Gibson guitars and Epiphone decided to work together to garner more consumers. Gibson and Epiphone would form under one company name, the name Gibson guitars winning that name. Under this new conglomerate, a mixture of Gibson and Epiphone, the new massive company was now able to attract thousands of consumers. Epiphone would disclose ideas to Gibson and the two companies worked together to take control over the guitar company. Instead of fighting over the same consumer population bith companies merged and doubled as well as increased their main consumer population. In the end, everyone benefited from the merge, not just one company.

Secondly, Matthew Bellamy and Tom Yorke, the frontmen of their respective bands, Muse, and Radiohead were in a constant feud in the 2000's trying to win as many fans as possible. They tried stealing each others fans but only ended up losing many of them. In 2010 Matthew Bellamy and Tom Yorke decided to work on a project together in hopes of attracting more fans. The result was a masterpiece that fans of both musicians praised. It was obvious hat both of these musicians were enormously talented but working togetehr, these two talented minds effectively created a masterpiece and created thousands of fans in the process. Again instead of having a competition and having only one person reaping all of the benefits both musicians benefited from collaborating with one another.

However, many people say that by having competition, people will work harder than they would otherwise because they want to come out on top. This is not true because, many ideas benefit from the fact that there are groups of people working together towards an end goal. In a competitive environment, there will always be those people who win and those that lose. In a cooperative environment no one loses, everyone wins.

Finally the best way for a society to effectively prepare young people for leadership different fields is too foster cooperative environments. Teams working together and creating effective solutions create societies with prosperous economies as seen through the merge of Gibson guitars and epiphone as well as Matthew Belammy and Tom Yorke.