The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that the quality of the Screen-produced movies is good and the real reason behind the decreasing attendents for the movies is because of the lack of good advertising, thus the company should spend more on advertising. While advertising can be a good means to reach out the public but it is not necessary that it is the sole factor responsible for success of product/service in the market. It seems that the director makes some assumptions and does not mention anything solid in order to strengthen the argument that advertising will indeed increase the reach to the public.

The director mentions that in past few years the percentage of the positive reviews of movies by the movie reviewers has increased. But he/ she does not clarify or mention anything about the movie reviewers. Like Who the reviewers are? Are they well known? Are the reviewers from different locations or are they from specific location? How is their social influence? etc. For all we know the reviewers can be some local, inexperienced reviewers, with a little or no public reach, then in that case the good review from them will be of little or no value. And it will not be very reasonable to conclude that the movies are of good quality based solely on the reviews from the these reviewers. Also the director mentions that the percentage of the positive reviews has increased but fails to mentions the total number. It is possible that simply the negative reviews have decreased or the ones giving the negative haven't been reviewing and in fact out of a very small number of reviews positive reviews are more. This is not sufficient to conclude that the quality of the movie is good. Thus the director should provide more specific details, information about the reviews and reviewers. The given information is not sufficient to strengthen the claim that the movies are of good quality.

For the movies to have more public reach advertising is not the only option, there are other factors that might help the movie gain more publicity. The movies can benefit from the popularity of the actors themselves working in the movie. For instance many Bollywood movies have gained huge benefits from the popularity of the actor Salman Khan. Even though the movies did not have a good content or a good story they were quite successful in the market. People chose to watch those movies only because Salman Khan was acting in it. Another example can be the movie `Interstellar`. The movie did not do a lot of promotion. Still it was a huge success because it was directed by the famous director `Cristopher Nolan`. Social influncers like actors, directors etc. can be a huge contributing factor towards the publicity of the movie. Therefore director and Super Screen Productions should investigate about this factors too instead of going only after advertising, sometimes there might be no need for too much of advertisement for gaining more reach to public factors like these can be more productive.

There can be some other aspect that may affect the Super Screen Movie Production companies popularity among the people. It can be like people might not be liking the contents or the story line of the movies. Or people just do not prefer the genre of the movies that the company has produces. For example if the company produces movies mostly of mystery or thriller genre, then there are lesser number of people who prefer that. If people rather preferred action, comedy, love stories etc. then naturally that movie would have lesser viewers. These aspects and may be some more could explain the decline in the number of the viewers of their movies and thus the company can work more towards those aspects. Because if that is the case even world class advertising may fail to attract more viewers. So even this aspect should be covered because if the company is facing somewhat similar issue then more advertising will not be very helpful.

In conclusion the director clearly makes some assumption or simply doesn't mention solid proofs to conclude that the advertising is solely to be blamed for the reason of decline of the viewers of the movies produced by Super Screen Production. In order to bolster his/her argument the director should provide some data or proof supporting his claim.