"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director presents the argument that according to the recent report from the marketing department of Super Screen Movie Production Company, fewer people attended the super screen produced movies last year than any other year. He states the reason for the decline as the lack of awarenesss among the people about the movie's review. As a result, the comapny has decided to allocate a greater share of its budget for advertisement from next year. However, this argument has rife of assumptions and loopholes as the director does not provide with proper statistical data on which the suggestion is based.

First, the director claims that fewer people attended Super screen produced movies last year although the movies recieved positive reviews by the reviewers. He assumes that the only reason for less attendance of the people is due to lack of advertisement of the movie. He falls to take into account the other possible reasons that have led to fewer people attending the movies. These reasons could be that people are suffering from some economic inflation or do not want to spend money on watching movies or they do not find the movie interesting or suitable for watching. The director's argument is based merely on the assumption and there is no statistical proof for it.

Secondly, the director mentions that clearly the problem is not with the content and quality of the movies but with the public's lack of awareness that good quality movies are available. This is another assumption as the director does not mention that he has found this reason by conducting some survey etc. He posits that the quality of movies is not the issue. However, we cannot claim that if the director or the reviewers find the movie quality at par, it is necessary that people also have no problem regarding the quality of the movies. So this argument is based only on supposition.

Also, the director argues that there is a lack of public awareness about the reviews that the movies are getting and hence the shoratge of people attending the movies. This is yet another fact which is based merely on the director's supposition. The argument nowwhere mentions that the director conducted some study to find out that there was some lack of awareness in reality. It can also be possible that the people are fully aware of the reviews of the movies but still do not find them in the position of watching the movies due to several other reasons.

Hence, without conducting proper survey and doing in-depth study of the reasons for the lack of public attendance for watching movies,the company should not allocate greater share of its budget in advertisement. Rather, the company must perform a detailed study and then devise a proper strategy and plan for the budget allotement and carefully use the monetory resources that will help drawing more people to the theaters.