The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee Gourmet Select Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into majo

The business plan by alex corporation proposes adding a new coffee line to answer the increasing demand for artisan coffee. It proposes first to introduce coffee to supermarket and then advertise it on tv and radio while simultaneously releasing to major restaurants chain. However before the plan is evaluated three points must be analyzed.

First of all, the increased demand does not mean people want new line of coffee. Maybe there is an increased demand for existing line of coffee and to satisfy it corporation can increase the supply of that coffee. Creating a new line of coffee has a big cost associated with it, logistical cost, advertising and production cost, and enough people will have to buy to cover the cost. Corporation should first conduct a survey with the people whether they will buy the new coffee or even if they are looking for a new type of coffee. If people are unwilling to buy the new coffee line it would result in huge loss to the company.

Second, the plan proposes to first introduce the coffee to supermarket and hopes for word of mouth adevertising to sustain sales but the plan does not outline where people buy their coffee from. If the people are buying it from the smaller grocery shops it would be more beneficial to release it to them first. So the plan to release it in supermarket has no ground.

Third, do people buy a particular coffee after seeing ad about it on tv or hearing about it on radio. There are no proofs provided that such advertising campaign works. An analysis must be done on previous ad campaigns on tv and radio related to coffee only then we can evaluate the plan.

In conclusion the plan is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the corporation is able to provide more evidence on the above three points then it will be possible to fully evaluate the plan.