The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones In order to relieve Briggsville s notorious traffic congestion Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi million dollar subway system The subway will run through the major

In the memorandum, Briggsville's Mayor plans to build multi million dollar subway system to solve traffic problems and increase worker productivity. He thinks subway will solve problems of residents related to inconsistent buses and general safety while riding the buses, which will in turn increase worker productivity. However, the argument for the plan takes into account certain assumptions which are not laid out in the memorandum and if the assumptions prove unwarranted the argument fails.

First of all, the subway may increase the traffic congestion. The memorandum does not specify what is causing the traffic congestion whether it is the public transport or private vehicles. If the majority of traffic is of private transport then it will not reduce the traffic and building of subway will take up major portion of the road, thus increasing the traffic congestion. Furthermore, it does not specify whether residents using the buses are willing to switch to subway or if the subway travels to the same destinations as the bus. If the people continue to use the bus the traffic on the road will not decrease and building of subway will increase traffic congestion.

Second, the memorandum states that building subway will solve problem of inconsistent buses by stating that it will run 24 hours a day. 24 hours a day does not mean subway will be consistent with the timings. It may still run late from time to time and memorandum does not assure us of consistency.

Third, the memorandum assumes that improving traffic will increase worker productivity but does not provide any details as what is affecting worker productivity. There can be several other factors affecting productivity such as low wage, bad morale or lack of social services. We will need to take survey and ask workers that what steps need to be taken to increase worker productivity. The assumption that building a subway will increase worker productivity has no ground.

In conclusion the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the mayor is able to analyze above three points and offer more evidence, then it will be fully possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed plan to build a subway.