The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Apex Corporation has deemed it necessary to introduce a new coffee product into the market. There is an unwarranted assumption that their questionable strategy and marketing campaign will lead to the product being a success.

Initially, the corporation intends to release the brand new product in a quiet manner. Their assumption that word of mouth will sustain sales is flawed. With no data being provided to sustain this claim, it's easy to deduce the complexity this plan will bring to the new coffee becoming a known brand. Furthermore, the description does not provide examples of what type of word of mouth marketing they plan to put into action. Are they really expecting the consumers to do their work for them? Perhaps, if there was data showing us that Apex is a household name, then this strategy would have a stronger foundation.

Moreover, the strategy shown by the corporation of starting a radio and television marketing campaign once the coffee is available to major chain restaurants seems to not be adequate. When a new product hits the market, they should make a splash. Putting the brand everywhere and making people excited about the product seems to correlate the idea of making the coffee available in major supermarkets. If they followed this plan, then making it available in restaurants once the brand is known, should be the cherry on top for the coffee's success. There definitely should be an explanation of where in the world the logic behind this rollout came from.

Lastly, the new product is competing with artisan coffee. The name "Gourmet Select" has no relationship to the term artisan coffee. Do the creative minds behind the name understood who the intended audience was? Most companies run study groups before they name a product. The data provided by the study groups may strengthen the choice for the name. Nonetheless, until it's provided, this can be considered a flawed assumption.

All companies release products with the hope of it becoming a resounding success. Behind the success, there are strategies in place to allow the product to have advantages against the competitors. The logic and assumptions denoted by the strategy used by Apex Corporation are not solid, and the implications of them suggest the new coffee won't be amongst the top sellers in the market.