“The following was used as part of an internet advertising company’s appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year’s totals. Furniture Depot’s success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. ”

The prompt suggests, an internet advertisinng company states that it can improve their client's sales, which inturn results in the profits for the company. It promotes itself by it's furniture depot client stating it has helped the company gain it's profitability and increased it sales by 10%. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, there might be many factors for the sales of the products to increase or decrease, is advertising only the factor to increase the sales? It is possible that, the quality of products has increased eventually which might inturn help to improve the number of sales. Further, it might be a loss for them if they invest on these advertising company, as 10% which is stated is a trivial one , which could possibly be by increasing the quality of the product. If this scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argumentis significantly weakened.

Secondly, promt assumes that advertising the product leads to the profitablity of the company Is that always true? It is possible that, there might be no difference even if the product is not advertised and it also assumes that the advertisements are reaching the targetted audience. Further, there is no proper evidence that the advertising company would target the required audience, but claims that it can increase their client profits. If the above is true, the the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarrented assumptions. If the author is able to answer these questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps, in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that by seeking help of the advertisement company could potentially increase the number of sales and profits.