In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their
favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these
pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside
recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the
river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up
Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government
should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.
The author of this proposal to increase the budget for Mason City riverside recreational facilities
offers an interesting argument but to move forward on the proposal would definitely require more
information and thought. While the correlations stated are logical and probable, there may be
hidden factors that prevent the City from diverting resources to this project.
For example, consider the survey rankings among Mason City residents. The thought is that such
high regard for water sports will translate into usage. But, survey responses can hardly be used as
indicators of actual behavior. Many surveys conducted after the winter holidays reveal people who
list exercise and weight loss as a top priority. Yet every profession does not equal a new gym
membership. Even the wording of the survey results remain ambiguous and vague. While water
sports may be among the residents’ favorite activities, this allows for many other favorites. What
remains unknown is the priorities of the general public. Do they favor these water sports above a
softball field or soccer field? Are they willing to sacrifice the municipal golf course for better
riverside facilities? Indeed the survey hardly provides enough information to discern future use of
improved facilities.
Closely linked to the surveys is the bold assumption that a cleaner river will result in increased
usage. While it is not illogical to expect some increase, at what level will people begin to use the
river? The answer to this question requires a survey to find out the reasons our residents use or do
not use the river. Is river water quality the primary limiting factor to usage or the lack of docks and
piers? Are people more interested in water sports than the recreational activities that they are
already engaged in? These questions will help the city government forecast how much river usage
will increase and to assign a proportional increase to the budget.
Likewise, the author is optimistic regarding the state promise to clean the river. We need to hear
the source of the voices and consider any ulterior motives. Is this a campaign year and the plans a
campaign promise from the state representative? What is the timeline for the clean-up effort? Will
the state fully fund this project? We can imagine the misuse of funds in renovating the riverside
facilities only to watch the new buildings fall into dilapidation while the state drags the river cleanup.
Last, the author does not consider where these additional funds will be diverted from. The
current budget situation must be assessed to determine if this increase can be afforded. In a sense,
the City may not be willing to draw money away from other key projects from road improvements
to schools and education. The author naively assumes that the money can simply appear without
forethought on where it will come from.
Examining all the various angles and factors involved with improving riverside recreational
facilities, the argument does not justify increasing the budget. While the proposal does highlight a