The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The application for the business loan by the developers is written by stating that a new jazz club, named C-Note, is expected to be profitable in the city of Monroe. But, the application can be deemed valid only if the assumptions on the basis of which its success is anticipated holds true. The developers have put forth reasons ranging from the distance between the city and its current nearest jazz club to the presence of famous jazz musicians in the city and the results of a nationwide study.

Firstly, the developers capture the distance of 65 miles to the city's nearest jazz club and perceive C-Note, by being built within the city is capable of capturing the entire local market. But this idea is flawed as it provides no information on whether the residents face issues with the distance. If they do not mind traveling 65 miles to visit the nearest jazz club, C-Note may not witness the expected success. Moreover, if the residents of monroe city have gotten accustommed to the current jazz club, the proposed new jazz club is not sure to outshine its competitor. if this point cannot be proved, despite the closeness to the city, C-Note may not be able to attract the local residents.

Also, the mention of 100000 residents that attended the annual jazz festival last year is an unreliable information. To begin with, the writers provide no confirmation that this was not just an aberration but is a continued trend since many years. Even if they could assure this, there is still the possibility that these residents are only interested in attending jazz events on an annual basis and not anymore frequently than that. The visitors of this festival may have been tourists majorly who cannot be guaranteed visitors of C-Note. Jazz music may be a popular genre in the city, but to use this as evidence for the club's profitability, the developers also need to make sure that the residents are also willing to spend money to enjoy this music.

The application further states well-known jazz musicians in the city to confirm why they should be lent the loan for C-Note. However, there is no warranty that these musicians are genuinely interested in the jazz clubs within the city. If they currently play at the jazz club outside the city, it is likely that they are not going to switch to the new jazz club. The developers also need to delineate that the presence of C-Note will be able to stand up to other forms of entertainment like the radio program, jazz Nightly. If the residents feel that the radio program would suffice, the success of the new club cannot be guaranteed, especially since the program airs everyday and also at a reasonable time of 7 pm, which is mostly post individuals' work hours.

Finally, the results of the survey cannot be blindly trusted because it is a nationwide survey and this may not representative of the interests of Monroe residents. if they align with the latter's likes, it may be justifiable to argue for the success of C-Note. Thus the developers need to cross-check these details before concluding that the above evidence can be accurately used to support the argument.