The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the application, the developers request to build a new jazz music club in Monroe. In order to support the conclusion, they indicate that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. Besides, they provide several evidence to point out that jazz music is in vogue in Monroe city: grandly annual jazz festival last summer; the resident famed jazz musicians; and notable radio program. At last, they also use the nationwide study to prove that typical jazz fans prefer to spend money jazz entertainment. However, for proving the view that the new jazz club indeed turns out to be remunerative, developers fail to present critical support and we still need further evidence to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the developers’ indication lacks of significant evidence to confirm that a new jazz club in Monroe city will draw plenty of local customers to compete with the existed jazz club. Even though the old nearest jazz club is far away from the city, it still can hold most of the customers by virtue of fancy decoration, unique jazz taste, pleasant service, and sporadic appearance of famous jazz musicians. Passing by many years operating management, it also has rich experience on running a jazz club and keeps a constant footfall. They know the local customers’ habits and tastes on music and serve well. The provided evidence from developers does not preclude the possibility that local people will still go out of city despite the new jazz club.

In addition, we need more evidence to prove that whether the jazz music is exceedingly popular in Monroe. Firstly, the data from developers may be not credible. Huge percent of people who attend the annual jazz festival in Monroe are tourists all over the world instead of the local residents. Another possibility is that several well-known jazz musicians came to Monroe to give a touring performances which attracted a huge number of people. The jazz festival in Monroe was obscure in the past. After discussing these two situations, we can raise the doubts whether the jazz music is truly popular in Monroe as developers say. And also, concerning the evaluation of the jazz radio program at weeknight, maybe the local residents just consider ‘jazz Nightly’ as a way to relax after working all day. Actually there are no other radio programs provided for them during weeknight to choose and the other radio programs in weekend are more attractive to them. If the developers can prove that the ‘jazz Nightly’ absolutely controls the local radio market and is highly rated at all time periods without rivals, then we believe that jazz is popular in Monroe.

Finally, the last study result provided by developers requires further accurate information to do more explains. It fails to imply that whether the nationwide study also applies to the local musical market in Monroe. One possibility is they have no interest on it and they love other forms of music. It is still a question whether the local jazz fans are eager to spend money jazz entertainment. Perhaps, due to the local depressing economy, fans are unable to spend money on their jazz entertainment. Further, the developers do not clarify the definition of jazz entertainment. The local jazz fans may only spend money on CDs, jazz instruments, and other jazz related products instead of the jazz music club. It is hard to convince that the new jazz club can bring a tidy profit.

To sum up, the evidence cited by the developers fail to provide enough evidence to make their request reliable. We need additional evidence, such as the better competitiveness of the new jazz music club, the facticity of popularity of jazz music in Monroe city, the applicability of the nationwide data on local music market, and local residents’ preference to spend money on jazz music club to make developers’ application more convincing and reliable.