The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The developers in the city of monroe proposes a blueprint that a jazz music club in monroe can be rewarding due to a lack of competitors and the zeal to jazz among local residents. However, before some critical questions have been settled, the developers' plan is at most specious.

First, despite the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away at present, we need to figure out whether there are other jazz clubs around monroe in plan. Otherwise, we cannot hastily assume our proposed club will embody all the local market to itself. If there are plenty of venturer discovering this opportunity, an...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.