The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise Currently the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away t

<p>The author of the memo suggested that their new jazz music club in Monroe will be commercially successful since the fond toward jazz music within the population, the projected spending on entertainment, and the lack of jazz club in Monroe. The reasoning from the author seems convincing, but some questions were left unanswered and could possibly undermine her statement.</p>

<p>The author implies that the residents in Monroe are fascinated by jazz music by indicating that over 100,000 people attended the annual jazz festival, the best-rating radio program in Monroe is about jazz, and several popular jazz stars were from Monroe. Nevertheless, all these evidence rose questions about the association with the implication of the residents in Monroe favor jazz music. For example, the audience at the annual jazz festival weren't necessarily local; the jazz festival could be so famous that all jazz fans from adjacent cities were willing to travel to Monroe to participate the festival, while the local residents were merely a small group of the audience. And by pointing out that jazz is the most popular genre on radio programs couldn't lead to the conclusion that the residents likes jazz. Some critical questions, such as, the number of other radio programs in the region, the ratio of audience who listens to radio to the whole population, and the quality of programs from other radio stations, should be answered to further evaluate the statement. If 'Jazz Nightly' was the best radio program in the area for reasons other than the population indeed enjoy the program, the statement would be concluded unsupported. </p>

<p>Furthermore, the writer argued that the lack of jazz clubs and the projected expense on entertainment would lead to a commercial success for their new jazz club. Else, the question that what amount of money were the jazz fans willing to spend on a jazz club needs to be answered. If most of the $1,000 annual jazz expense were used on concerts and purchasing albums, there wouldn't be much money left for spending on a local jazz club; therefore starting a business of jazz club wasn't guaranteed to be successful.</p>

<p>In conclusion, the applicant should answer two critical questions, whether the local residents in Monroe were interested in jazz music or not and what amount of money were the jazz fans in the region were willing to spend on a jazz club, to make his loan application more convincing.</p>