The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth

I mostly agree with the statement that analyzing the trend of youths is the most effective way to understand the contemporary culture. Although others may argue that other members in the society is as important as the youths when it comes to shaping the contemporary culture, the youths are the more active and vigorous ones who contribute to identifying the contemporary culture. Since the youths are more active on shaping the contemporary culture, while the contributions of others can't be neglected, I mostly agree with the statement.

One of the best ways to understand the culture is to analyze, knowing the people who represents the culture. Reading researches of the origin or learning the history may give ones a brief overview of a culture, but the better way of understanding a culture is to analyze the population that represents the culture. For example, learning the history of Japan colonizing Taiwan from history classes in school gave me a vague picture of the colonized culture at that time, but the truly knowing of the culture was taught by my grandfather who lived in the society at that time. And by talking to my grandfather I realized that colonization impacted the culture in Taiwan, and the way the generations lived.

The population that represented contemporary culture most is the youths, since they were highly active on shaping the culture. The youths are more creative and fearless, so they often come up with something that no one had imagined before. And those things they created have a higher chance to become part of the contemporary culture. The youths are not afraid of wasting their time on building or creating something useless; for example, internet memes, which are funny pictures that are ridiculous, were nothing useful when it were first invented, but become part of the culture of the contemporary culture. Since they are not afraid of making things that are useless, they create way more things than others in the society. Consequently, with a higher number of creation, the youths have a higher chance to contribute to contemporary culture.

Nonetheless, some may refute that other members of the society also contributes to the contemporary culture, which makes them worth to be analyzed for understanding the contemporary culture. Indeed they do contribute to the contemporary culture, and they do represent that part of the culture. However, the proportion that represents the culture which they are not the youths are significantly less than the youths. Consider the possibility of the things created become part of contemporary culture is fixed, since the things created by the youths are much more than the others, the things that eventually became part of contemporary culture are majorly created by the youth. So the best way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the youths and look at other aspects that are possible the shape the culture.

To sum up, since the best way of understanding a culture is to analyze the people who represent the culture and the people who represent contemporary culture is the youths, I mostly agree with the statement. And not overlooking the other aspects that shaped the culture, such as other members that shaped the culture, gives ones thorough understanding of the culture.