GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, far

The recommendations that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote the new type of millet is good only if it is well thought and is supported by facts and logic. If the logic isn't sound, the recommendation would not be worth its salt.

While the new type of millet has high content of Vitamin A, have there been any studies which show that the consumption of these millets will actually lead to higher Vitamin A in the human body? Many food items have high amounts of certain vitamin or mineral but the human body cannot make use of it efficiently.

The recommendation says that as the newer seeds are expensive, the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of this millet. This raises a question of who will be paying for these subsidies? Also, one needs to look into the cost of providing vitamin A to the residents of Tagus and if these costs are comparable to the subsidy.

The assumption that since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety is not justified. Was there any survey amongst the Tagus people? People in general resist change and since this affects their food, changing over could be difficult.

There need to be studies which show the efficacy of these millets in combating Vitamin A deficiency, cost benefits of growing these crops as compared to Vitamin A supplements and who would pay for them, and most importantly will the people readily adopt the new variety of millet. Only after these points are clarified, the recommendation holds its weight.