GRE Argument:The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce."Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month

The recommendation asserts that city of Amburg will have reduced vandalism rate if the city installs high-intensity light in its business district. The author provides many reasons of support, but it is inadequate and groundless.

At first, the author assumes that decreased rate of vandalism in Belleville district is solely due to installation of lighting. However, since he does not provide any evidence for it, the author assumption is unwarranted. There may be other reasons for decrease. Strict punishment against the vandalism if caught, or presence of camera in the street which increases there chance of being caught may preclude them causing such act. Thus, if causes reduction in vandalism are anything but lighting, then installation of light in Amburg district will not provide expected outcome and there will be loss of government budget.

Second, the author assumes analogy between two districts without giving any justifiable evidence. If the lessening of vandalism in Belleville district is due to lightening, how can it also cause reduction in Amburg district? The people of two cities may be different in behavioral aspect. The Belleville city people may be lenient or coy so they are timid of performing such act in presence of light. However, people of Amburg district may be unyielding, and will continue their activities in presence of light also. Thus, the author should consider the various façade of two cities before applying the recommendation.

Third, the author maintains that inhibition of crime rates can revitalize the declining neighborhood of city. However, the author does not provide any statistical data showing that the decrease in neighborhood is due to its high crime rate. The city may be struggling with other dire problem such as having squalid residence or unemployment, so they may be compelled to leave the city. Therefore, the reasons for decrease in residence must be evaluated thoroughly.

Therefore, the recommendation the author provide lacks of compelling evidence. The premise such as decrease in reason for vandalism in Belleville district, two common aspects of cities and cause of decline in residence of Amburg district should be thoroughly investigated.