Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument mentions the benefits of consuming green tea and also mentions the potential side effects caused due to excessive consumption. It mentions that one should not consume more than two cups of green tea to avoid any symptoms similar to those of chronic coffee drinkers. However, the argument is vague and needs addressing of subtleties to be reliable.

The most fundamental flaw in the argument is quantifying the amount of green tea or coffee consumed in the terms of number of cups per day. This method to quantify the amount of coffee or green tea is vague. The cup size varies from person to person and even from different regions. The Greek type of the coffee cup differs from the common types of tea cups used in England, in the sense that the Greek type is more in size than those in England. This simple difference makes a huge difference in the amount of green tea consumed each day, thus weakening the argument.

Another subtle fault in mentioning the quantity of coffee or tea is mentioning it in terms of volume of liquid. Even though two people take 200 millilitres of coffee each day, the quantity of coffee they consume can differ in terms of concentration. Of the two, one might take a strong concentrated coffee and another might take a low concentration of coffee. Thus, the amount of coffee or green tea consumed should not be mentioned in terms of volume, but in terms of concentration of grams consumed each day. This will remove any ambiguity in understanding what quantity of green tea can be harmful.

Green tea contains caffeine along with other constituents which are sources of antioxidants and powerful anti-aging compounds. In contrast, coffee mainly contains solely caffeine. There can be a possibility that the other constituents of green tea prevent the side effects of caffeine, thus making green tea harmless, unlike coffee which is almost completely composed of caffeine. Thus, the interactions between the different constituents of green tea with the moderate amount of coffee should be studied to understand the effect of green tea in causing side effects similar to those of chronic coffee drinkers.

The argument is largely based on the long-term study which revealed that those who drink more than three cups of green tea per day are prone to symptoms similar to those of chronic coffee drinkers. However, a long-term study can be misleading in several ways. It can be possible that the people who were studied might even consume other sources of caffeine, such as cola or coffee itself. Such a scenario would render flawed results of the survey. The study might include people of a particular age group for whom the effects of caffeine might be more severe than other age groups. This will also lead to a flaw in the results of the long-term study and thus the conclusion that one should not consume more than two cups of green tea. There can be several other unjustified shortcomings of the long-term study. Thus, the study should be justified and carried out in a detailed manner.

The argument mentioned aims to prevent people from the side effects caused be excessive consumption of green tea. But it argument is vague in terms of defining the quantity of green tea one consumes. Also, the long term study over which the conclusion is largely based is not properly justified in detail. Thus, with the lack of a more justifed and detailed study, and the lack of a clear unit for the quantity of green tea consumed, the argument stands weak.