Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants powerful anti aging and immune system boosting compounds Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day the greater the benefits Green tea however contains moder

The author suggests that drinking one or two cups of green tea a day can provide health benefits without producing any unwarranted side effects. The evidence presented is that it has been hailed as an excellent source powerful anti-aging and immune system boosting compounds and points to a long-term study that exposes the symptoms experienced when exceeding the recommended dose. This argument is flawed for many reasons; therefore, I will discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate this argument and explain how the evidence would strengthen or weaken the argument.

Firstly, the assumption that anyone who consumes two cups of green tea or less will not experience any of the negative side effects weakens the argument. This doesn't take into consideration those who are hypersensitive to caffeine. Many people will experience sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches from the author's recommeded dosage.

Secondly, the 'long term study' the author uses assumes that everyone that drinks more than three cups of green tea are likely to experience symptoms similar to chronic caffeine drinkers also weakens the argument. Some people can tolerate high doses of caffeine without any issues whatsoever. In fact, some people could have a high dose right before bed and still fall asleep. People can build up a tolerance to the drug over years of exposing themselves to frequent high doseages.

Thirdly, although green tea may be an excellent source of anti-oxidants, the argument does not provide any specific evidence as to how it has anti-aging and immune system boosting properties. While this claim could hold some merit, specific evidence is needed to support this position. If the author tied in some facts from a specific study about how these compounds produced these effects, it would strengthen the argument.

In summary, the argument contains many holes that could be strengthened by tying in spefic examples to support the claims. If the author included facts about the health benefits and nuance surrounding the effects of certain dosages, the argument could present itself much stronger.