Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author presents many dubious pieces of evidence to support the claim that one should not drink more than two cups of green tea because of the harmful side effects it can cause. The evidence is faulty, however, and the author's claim all but falls apart upon closer examination.

First, the opponent states that green tea has bits of caffeine, which can lead to side effects. The author lists many negative side effects, but fails to consider that more positive effects may outweigh the negative. Caffeine, as seen in coffee, also promotes alertness and energy for a moderate period. Maybe the "irritability and headaches" pale in comparison to the benefits of more caffeine. We don't know. The argument needs additional evidence concerning the degree of negative to postive effects of caffeine to draw a reasonable conclusion.

Moving on, the author cites a study relating green tea to chronic coffee drinking symptoms. Little information is given on the study, casting doubt on the comparisons. Maybe other factors besides the green tea effected the results. We know nothing about the participants of the study other than they drank more than three cups of green tea. It's possible that the paticipants are all around a certain age or all have a similar diet, which may unintentionally skew the results. It's even possible that some of the participants as drank coffee during the study, further muddy-ing the waters. Without more information regarding the test subjects or test practices, the results and conclusions drawn from the study remain unclear.

With so little information on the cited study, no concrete correlation can be drawn between drinking more coffee and drinking more green tea. Furthermore, since green tea's many positive effects of boosting the immune system and anti-aging may possibly outweigh its negative effects, it may actually be beneficial in the long run to drink more green tea.