Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While in general, statistics support the need for protective equipment in various sports including but not limited to roller-skating, there are flaws in how it is being presented here. The passage states that 75% of people involved in these accidents were not wearing and physical protection, this is simply a correlation. This is not to imply that this statistic doesn’t matter, but the reality is that it alone can not tell an entire story. The nature of the injuries faced by the 75% is not explained in detail, meaning that it is not outside the realm of possibility that protective equipment would not have helped very much at all. In order to strengthen this argument, those conducting the study must determine how many of the injuries were preventable by wearing protective or light reflecting equipment, since some of the injuries are likely to be due to recklessness. For example, standard protective equipment such as a helmet, knee pads, and elbow pads, will not protect the rider if he or she insists on attempting to jump down an outside flight of stairs and breaks their tibia. However, if the rider were not wearing protective equipment, they would still be included in the statistic, making it misleading.

At the current state of the passage’s argument, the 75% statistic simply shows one commonality between three quarters of roller-skating accidents. In order to make that number realistically mean anything, one would have to compare the rate of injury in a group with protective equipment to that without protective equipment, and the study would have to be a “field study” of sorts, in order to emulate a real life environment. Without this comparison, one may draw meaningless comparisons with no inhibition.

To summarize, the last sentence in the passage is mainly vulnerable to the criticism that it assumes that the correlation implies that more protective equipment will help solve the problem. The correlation does not imply this, it simply states that three quarters of skating accidents occur when people do not wear protective equipment. In fact, there are cases that would do well to entirely refute that assumption. Professional American football, for example, is controversial due to the amount of cranial trauma that the players suffer. Professional players often suffer from their careers decades after they retire, as a result of both large and small collisions with one another causing damage to their brain. Additionally, American football players wear extensive protective equipment, including shoulder pads, knee pads, elbow pads, mouthguards, and helmets, meant to protect their heads. Rugby, which is similarly a physically aggressive sport, has players not bolstered by nearly as much equipment as American football, yet the controversy and occurrence of injury is lower. Some hypothesize that the protective equipment is ironically the reason for the increased injury in American football. Proponents of this idea claim that protective equipment gives people a false sense of invincibility, causing them to act on more reckless behaviors with the belief that their equipment will save them. The football and rugby example provided above would help to support that claim. If this hypothesis holds true, then it can likely be extrapolated to other sports, including roller-skating. In that case, certain people wearing protective equipment would feel it is safe to perform reckless stunts, whereas those same people might be more reluctant to do so if they appreciated the danger of the situation.

In conclusion, while the hospital statistics can play an important role in the narrative, it simply isn’t capable of telling the entire story, much less suggesting a solution. However, the passage took that one small piece of the data, and used that to create multiple assumptions, and went as far as claiming a solution to the problem. Even if the argument and solution proposed in the passage were correct, it is intellectually dishonest to create said argument given the small amount of information available.