The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Within the argument presented there are a couple of unstated assumptions. One being that everyone who roller-skates has access to protective clothing. The argument depends on this assumption because by improving the quality of the protective clothing, it assumes that these people will be able to get the new gear, which will lead to reduced risk of injury through roller-skating accidents. However, if people do not have protective clothing available to them physically (in stores or through online shopping) or are not able to afford these protective clothing, this argument of improving protective clothing or light-reflecting material to decrease accidents, does not hold up. If people cannot get the equipment in the first place, improving the said equipment will not provide any change in the number of roller-skating accidents.

Another assumption within this argument, is that it's the roller-skater's fault that they are hit. By providing better equipment for the person roller-skating, it assumes that they are the ones at fault for being injured. However, it does not hold up because not every injury is due to another party not seeing the roller-skater (light-reflecting material). With protective clothing, that could be seen as the roller-skater's fault in every situation because they are aware that if they do not wear protective clothing there is a risk of them becoming injured. But when it comes to light-reflecting material, it assumes that the person is injured because they were not seen at night and that it is their responsibility to be seen by others. However, there are some situations where others will be injured due to not being seen by others, but the accident will occur during the daytime. This does not hold up to the argument because it assumes that most accidents when another party does not see a roller-skater happens only at night. When it is brought to attention that accidents may happen more frequently in the daytime, it doesn't really show any benefit for decreasing roller-skating accidents by improving light-reflecting material that is only useful at night.

A final assumption is that people who roller-skate will want to buy the new protective or reflective gear. The argument depends on this assumption because if roller-skaters want the new equipment, they will buy it, and lead to lower roller-skating accidents. However, if the roller-skater community doesn't see this as a problem, the number of accidents will not go down. If they have a mindset where they already have this equipment and they don't want to buy the new ones, then this argument will not hold up. Similarly, if the community thinks injury is a part of the sport, there will be no reason to buy the protective clothing in the first place. This further shows that improving the high-quality protective gear and reflective gear may not have a real effect on reducing the number of roller-skating accidents.