Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of

the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct.

Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence

that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have

discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such

areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the

mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused

the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the

implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that some climate change or other environmental factor must be responsible for the large mammal species' extinctions. The conclusion is mainly based on that human cannot have been a reason for the extinctions since there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals and the archaeologists have found no bones of large mammals in the region where they discovered bones of fish. However, the author should evaluate the assumptions to establish the argument strongly.

The author mentions the lack of evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals and infers that human cannot be responsible for the extinctions of mammals. Nevertheless, the author should comprehensively evaluate the assumptions behind the inference. Even though human had no direct contact with the mammals, it does not mean that they are not the reason for the extinction. In all likelihood, they may threaten the mammals’ lives by some indirect ways, such as excessive deforestation and farming, which may occupy the habitats of the large mammals and engender the deaths of them due to the insufficient living area. It is also possible that some kind of human behaviors might cause a rapid decrease in the vegetation which the mammals feed on, as a result, they may die out on account of the lack of food. Therefore, if the author eliminates the possibilities which weaken the assumption, the argument may be more convincing.

The author also demonstrates that the archaeologists have not found any bones of large mammals in numerous sites where they discovered bones of fish being discarded and infers that human cannot have hunted the mammals. Nevertheless, this finding, in itself, cannot sufficiently substantiate the inference, and the assumption need to be checked carefully. It is entirely probable that the archaeologists have just started their research and have not searched exhaustively. So the bones of large mammals may exist but have not been found. Besides, it is likely that people may discard the bones of mammals into the sea, or they used the bones to make some useful tools rather than discarded them. Under these scenarios, the argument that human cannot have hunted the mammals is far-fetched.

On the basis that the two aforementioned inferences are justifiable, it is still hasty for the author to conclude that it is the climate change or other environment factor that resulted in the species' extinctions. Some assumptions need to be evaluated. It is totally possible that the mammals died from the widespread plague or other kinds of epidemic. Besides, never can we neglect the possibility that their extinctions can be attributed to the fierce competition among themselves or their feeble competence of evolution. Therefore, the assumption cannot hold water under these scenarios.

To sum up, while the conclusion might be plausible, the author should assess the assumptions to substantiate the argument. Had the author considered the possible scenarios to strengthen the assumptions, the conclusion and the whole argument might have been persuasive.