Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The passage edify about a theory which implies that the humans where not the reason behind disappearance of the mammals. The passage take some facts to support the conclusion that the environmental phenomena wiped out majority of the big mammals from the kaliko island. however there are certain flaws in the passage.

Firstly, it states that 7000 years ago humans set their foots on the kaliko island and within 3000 years the population big mammals was decreased significantly. To counter this the passage states that there was no proof that humans were in direct contact with the mammals. however, it is possible that when thwe humans first arrived, they stated deforesting the island for agrarian purpose. therefore, due to significant decrease in the forest the population of the mammals might have been decreased. even if the evidence about the contact of humans and mammals are not found, it can not be said that the humans were not in the contact with the mammals. The evidence might not have been discovered yet. therefore, the surmise about the contact between human and mammals cannot support the conclusion.

Secondly, the archeologist did found the areas where bones of fish were discarded, but they did not found such areas of bones of mammals. however, even if such areas are not discovered, it can not be said surely that there are no such areas. Perhaps the archeologist have not succeeded in finding areas where bones of mammals where discarded. moreover, if the areas are not found then it is also possible that they exported the bones of large mammals to other places. they might have hunted the large mammals down for their bones rather than for food. therefore if the archeologists have not found the the discarded bones of mammals can not conclude that the humans were not the reason behind the extinction of the mammals.

moreover, it can be possible that the human group might have used to hunt the mammals to prove their capabilities. this situation might have prevailed the hunt of mammals and by the passing years the mammals might have extincted due to relentless hunting by the humans. The clan might have used their bones like skull to represent their strength to the rivals. such situation might have been reason behind the extinction of the mammals.

Additionally, The passage conclude that there might be environmental catastrophe behind the extinction of the mammals. but it fails to take into account that this catastrophe might also effect humans living on the island. there was no facts and reports presented to support that environmental calamity was the reason behind the extinction of the mammals.

therefore, the assumptions have many flaws and can not conclude that the humans are not the reason behind the extinction of the mammals of kaliko island.