An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although this recommendation displays a chronological logic about the outcome of a new variety of high vitamin A millet distributed to the nation of Tagus, it leaves several questions unanswered and makes assumptions that weaken its argument. In order for this recommendation to become truly meaningful, the author would have to answer the question of whether there are confounding variables influencing the vitamin A deficiency, if the people of Tagus truly do have the ability of adapting to these new varieties of millet, and the long term impact of the new crop on all aspects of Tagus life.

One very important factor completely disregarded by the recommendation, is the possibility of confounding variables unrelated to diet that may have influenced this vitamin A deficiency in the Tagus people. What other factors may have contributed to this health crisis? What undeniable proof is there for a lack of vitamin A being caused by diet alone? These questions may very well lead to a completely different source of the problem. Answering these questions would allow the author to rule out other causes of, and, therefore, possible alternatives to solving the vitamin A deficiency problem.

Another aspect that remains untouched throughout the recommendation is if the Tagus people will be able to adapt to the new variety of millet. Has a small population of the Tagus people tried the new millet? Does this new millet impose other allergy or health related problems? Specific details about this particular type of engineered millet are completely left out of the recommendation. The argument will greatly increase in strength once the author assures the readers that the people will actually be able to adapt to the new food and that no new problems will arise.

In addition to leaving out specifications for the new millet, the author also fails to mention any long term effects this new millet may have relating to health, agriculture, environment, and the economy. Will these genetically modified varieties of millet cause any other issues for the people in the future? Are these new crops sustainable for both the environment and the economy? How long can the government fund the new subsidies for the farmers to plant the more expensive crops, and what would the outcome be if a deficiency in funds could no longer offset costs for the farmers? The author does not address how the outcomes of implementing this new millet will impact the citizens of Tagus for generations to come, particularly if a diet based vitamin A deficiency is a long term problem. Sustainability is an important factor to consider for the safeguard of the next generation.

In conclusion, the recommendation does contain some logic despite the many questions the author leaves unanswered such as the effect of confounding variables influencing the health crisis and the ability of the Tagus people to adapt to the new millet. Answering these questions would greatly strengthen the argument and potentially influence the government of Tagus to implement this new type of millet. However, without answers to these questions, the recommendation lends itself as being fairly useless.