“'Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.’ Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Although the author creates a logical argument about the "cause-and-effect" nature of the Omega University issue, the author fails to provide enough evidence that student evaluations are the real root of the problem. In addition to a wide variety of factors that may have both confounded the higher grades and lack of job success, the passage fails to directly connect the overall relationship between both factors with evidence. In order to create a much stronger argument, the author will need to provide more information about how exactly these surveys were taken, if the surveys had a direct impact on the teachers assigning higher grades, and whether or not the grade inflation impacted potential emplyers to be considered the actual root of the unemplyment.

The first component of the argument that must be addressed is the student surveys themselves. What questions are being asked? How are the questions being asked? Surveys are known to distort real data by asking question in enticing ways that sway towards certain answers. If the surveys are, themselves, not very accurate, maybe it is the surveys that need to be changes, not terminated. Are all students required to fill out an evaluation for the sake of their grades or is it optional? Optional student surveys tend to attract the student's who did extremely well or the students who did very poorly. Is this representative of the entire student body? Maybe the problem here is that the small student population is not an accurate sample size of the student population. More importly, what are the direct ramifications of the survey on the student body? Has any research been done to directly connect the surveys to change in grade inflation or teaching? Are the student evaluations causing the teacher's to change their instruction in a way that makes them "easy" or worthy of more student praise or are the professors directly turning C's to A's causing students to use the curve as a crutch? Until the author provides statistical evidence of the effects of the survery directly on the grade increase, he renders the passage unable to draw a clear conclusion about the impact of the surveys on the grade inflation in the first place.

When the author introduces student surveys as a factor influencing teacher's to higher the grades in their classes, he also makes several unwarranted assumptions. The first assumption is that the surveys are the cause of the teacher's assigning higher grades. If it is true that the overall averages of the classes have gone up, how can we assume that the direct cause of this grade increase is from the impact of dissatisfactory student surveys? There are an amalgam of other reasons why grades may increase in the classroom including teacher compassion for the students, changes in curriculum, and generational differences of students.

The second assumption, which may be even more unwarranted that the first, is that the grades themselves, whether stemming from inflation or not, are the cause of student unemployment after graduation. Counding variables such as the availability of the job market, student readiness to enter industry, and overall lack of employment for all ages and level of education may be hindering student's from achieving success. How can we assume that potential employers use the inflated grades as a reason to reject students when classroom activities are oftentimes unrepresentative of job performance. The author would need to provide clear evidence of how many employers have commented and what exactly they are saying about the university "grade inflation." Maybe it is not the increase in grades that are hindering student success after graduation, but a lack of the institution to provide students with enough resources to secure jobs or be ready to apply to the job market at all. The author mentions Alpha University nearby as having the same problems. Does Alpha Univeristy distribute student evaluation surveys? If not, that would dramatically decrease the validity of the Omega University arguement. The author urgently needs to address the wide variety of other variables that may have contributed to the unemplyement of which have nothing to do with the grades, classroom, or university at all.

In order to create a stronger argument that could be used to potentially prove the harm of student surveys, the author would need to evaluate the evidence of the validity of the surveys in the first place, the direct impact of those surveys on grade inflation, and the impact of that grade inflation on the general job market. Throughout the passage, no clear evidence is shown connecting all three. Until the author provides statistics or other forms of quantitative and qualitative data on the effects of the survery, no clear conclusion may be drawn about the termination of student surveys.