An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation proposes to combat Vitamin A deficiency by providing alternative sources of foods rich in Vitamin A. This proposal doesn’t consider the reasons why a deficiency of Vitamin A exists in the nation of Tagus. The reasons why other traditional sources of Vitamin A have been ineffective must be examined to ascertain whether it is solely due to the lack of such foods or rather due to other environmental or biological reasons. It also must address whether the Vitamin A content in the new breed of millet seeds will be absorbed by the body effectively. The interaction of the new breed with other ingredients in the food must also be studied. Certification from the medical community and other food regulatory bodies must be obtained to safeguard the health of the people of Tagus. Further, it should be seen if the problem lies in the distribution of nutritious food.T hen, even the existence of a better variety of millets would not solve the underlying problem.

The proposal assumes the new breed of millet seeds will grow abundantly in the lands of Tagus. It has no mention of whether field testing of the seeds has been done in Tagus and whether the soil and weather conditions are conducive for the growth of this new breed of millet. The long-term effect of cultivating this engineered breed of millet on the soil and its surroundings must be determined. Like, whether it consumes a lot of water or saps necessary nutrients needed for other plants to grow. A comparison based on the cost of resources consumed by the old and new breed of millets must be done to ascertain whether there are any detrimental effects of the latter. The new breed of millets must be certified by the concerned environmental authorities before it can be distributed. The cost of farming the seeds, although subsidized, might still be higher than the current operating costs of the farmers. Further surveys on whether the farmers will readily accept this change must also be ascertained.

The proposal assumes the people of Tagus will readily accept the new breed of millets. It fails to consider any sociological or religious concerns about genetic engineering of foods the society may have. The taste of the new breed of millets may not be liked by the people. Millets could be a staple food because it is available abundantly and cheap. The new breed may be costlier than the regular breed of millets leading to people substituting it with some other grain. The Government of Tagus must also see if there are more pressing concerns it must tackle and whether the budget allocated for the aforementioned programme will hamper other important initiatives. It should also examine other cost effective measures that may be able to better tackle the issue at hand