An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Though Vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus is a cause for concern and needs immediate solution, the author's argument calling for the government of Tagus to promote a new type of millet to address this deficiency is flawed on various levels due to several unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the Vitamin A deficiency could be due to variety of factors among the people. The author does not cite any research for the cause of the deficiency, instead he/she is trying to address the effect without any consideration to the cause. Say, if the people had a rare blood disease or mutation that does not allow their body to absorb Vitamin A, then, in spite consuming this new breed of millet, nothing will improve and the Vitamin A deficiency will still persist among the people of the nation. In order to find a solution, the government must first work on finding the root cause of the vitamin deficiency. To do this, they must do a medical checkup/profiling of the affected people and evaluate their lifestyle and diets. Based on the results, the government should look at steps to address the problem, instead of directly spending time and money on promoting a new breed of millet.

Another flaw in the author's argument is that he/she assumes without any backing that the subsidies provided by the government is enough to cover the additional costs for the farmers. The new variety of millets is already costlier than the earlier breed, but, there is no indication of the additional things that might be needed by this new breed- maybe, this new breed will require lots of water compared to the older breed or maybe it will require heavy use of pesticides and chemicals to grow properly- all of which require additional expenditure from the farmers, which might not be covered by the government subsidy. The author will benefit from providing a detailed requirements for the new breed and also information about the subsidy to help farmers decide whether it is beneficial for them to grow the new crops.

Even if the millet could address the Vitamin A deficiency among the people, the author does not give a strong argument as to why the people will readily adopt this new breed. He does not provide any information about the potential side effects of this new breed. If the new variety could address Vitamin A deficiency, but, has carcinogenic side-effect, then, there is no way that people will buy this genetically-engineered variant. In order to convince the people, independent testing must be done by government-approved labs to declare them safe for people use.

So, as we see, though Vitamin A deficiency must be addressed as soon as possible by the government of Tagus, the author's argument for promoting the new breed of millet is not persuasive because is flawed on many factors.