Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The argument provided for increasing the time allocated to weather and local news is flawed on many levels. Primarily, the argument assumes that the decreased vieweship is due to reduced time to local and weather news, which is not true.

The argument here assumes that the reason for decrease in viewership is due to increased time to national news and less time to local and weather news. This assumption is incorrect because there are many other factors which could account for decresed viewership. For one, maybe the sleeping pattern of residents of the city have changed and now they are going to bed early than before. Since, this program is aired late-night, they are unable to watch it which could account for decreased viewership. In order to draw any conclusions, the station must firstly look into the profile of its target audience. If indeed, the people go to sleep early, the station should look at switching the program to an earlier timeslot.

Another reason that could account for reduced popularity is Internet. Everyday, more and more people are using Facebook and Google News to get their news digest, and hence they do not feel the need to watch television. Since, internet provides news anytime and everywhere, the residents might have shifted to using internet for their news. This could account for local businesses that had cancelled their advertising contracts with the TV station, because the advertisers want to reach out to people in the medium which is most popular. So, if the station wants to reach more people and get advertisers, they should also look into starting their news channel on Youtube or other popular websites.

Another flawed assumption here is that since most of the complaints were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news, the viewers actually wanted less national news. Maybe the complaints were regarding the quality of content rather than the time allocated for local and weather news. In order to be able to make a better informed decision, the station should start looking at the reason of the complaint rather than the category, and work on addressing them.

Thus, we see that the arguments provided by the manager of the television station is flawed on many levels and cannot be taken seriously to decide on the timeslots to be allocated to each category of news.