An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

Though this is a good and positive initiative by the international development organization to engineer a new breed of millet high in vitamin A to counter the deficiency of vitamin A among the people in impoverished nation of Tagus.It is important to answer several questions before implementation this idea.

It takes a lot of hard work for farmers to grow grains and several factors come into picture which needs to be attended and examined first. One such factor is weather conditions.It needs to be made sure that the seasonal conditions required for new breed of millet should be same or close in some extent to the previous breed of millet.If not,it will be very difficult for the farmers to understand the seasonal requirements and it may even be possible that seasonal conditions in Tagus are not even suitable for growing this grain.

The time taken to grow the millet also should be the same.If the new breed of millet takes longer time to grow fully then it may cause a huge loss to farmers.This would reduce the grain output to time ratio.

Another factor which plays a major role is the difference in the taste of the new breed of millet.Will the people of Tagus like it and continue to eat the same way as they would have eaten the previous breed.If not then this would not be much of a success.Contrarily if the people like the taste of it and eat excess of it then there might be a problem of excess of Vitamin A in their body which might altogether cause a new issue.

Hence it is important to carefully examine and consider all these factors before coming to a conclusion and making such a huge decision of farming the new variety of millet.