An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

To produce the desired effect of combating vitamin A deficiency in Tagus using this newly introduced millet variety, the government of Tagus must put the following points into consideration as they are very sacrosanct to the workability of this proposed project:

First, the government should consider how much subsidy is given to the farmers of this millet variety, is it enough to offset the cost incurred in the purchase in new seeds? This factor should be addressed at it will greatly influence the decisions of the farmers to adopt this new expensive variety over the cheaper variety they have been previously farming.

Also, the viability of this new untested variety of millet might make the farmers balk its adoption, if this new variety though having very high vitamin A, is not resistance to the weather conditions and the prevalent plant diseases in the town of Tagus, then the proposed project might not yield the desired benefits.

Another point that should be put into consideration is the acceptance of this new variety of millet by the general public; since the millet is a staple food, most people have become accustomed to its taste, its aroma, its cooking time, etc. an alteration of any of these which might result from mutations in the newly engineered millet might lead to a public opposition to its adoption. In addition to the government should also consider the type of Millet processing technique that is predominant in Tagus; vitamins do not withstand extreme cooking temperature; if cooking at very high temperatures is the predominant processing technique, the plan might be futile.