An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A.While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

While at first this argument seems sound, there are a few questions that need to be answered in order to decide if a new breed of millet will combat the vitamin A deficiency problem in Tagus.

First, it needs to be answered if a new breed of millet high in vitamin A is the only solution, or if there are cheaper options. Since Tagus is an impoverished nation, they need to have an affordable solution. While part of this current solution involves subsidizing the farming of millet, if there is a cheaper and easier option, those should be explored. For example, perhaps a supplement in the form of a pill would be a cheaper and more accessible option. However, if other solutions have been explored and a new type of millet is the only plausible solution, then this would further support the argument in combatting the vitamin A deficiency.

Another question that needs to be answered is if the subsidies will sufficiently cover costs for farming the new variety of millet. Subsidizing farmers to grow the new variety of millet does seem like a good solution on the surface. However, if the costs for growing this new variety of millet are still high, even after being subsidized, then farmers will not want to grow the new variety and the vitamin A deficiency problem will not be solved.

Finally, it needs to be clarified if the people in Tagus will accept a new variety of millet as readily as the recommendation suggests. This argument assumes that just because they already eat one type of millet, that they will automatically eat a new variety. However, if this new type of millet costs more to grow, will it also cost more to buy and consume? If so, the people of Tagus might not want to buy the new variety, so the vitamin A deficiency will still be an issue. Or perhaps this new type of millet will taste different, and therefore wont be as popular in Tagus. Again, this would still cause the vitamin A issue to exist. The question needs to be answered if the people of Tagus will actually easily adopt a new variety of Tagus, depending on variables such as cost and taste.

While this argument initially seems reasonable, there needs to be clarifications on if a new variety of millet is the only solution, if subsidies will sufficiently cover costs for growing the new variety, and if the people of Tagus will readily adopt the new millet. Depending on how these questions are answered, the recommendation will either be strengthened, or a new approach will be needed to solve the problem.