People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

I mostly agree with the statement that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic are poor decision makers. However, there are circumstances where I disagree with this statement.

First, decisions made based on emotion are often made rashly and not thought out. A person could make a poor decision on impulse, and then not wanting to feel guilty after, justify their decision with twisted, self-serving logic. For example, let's say that a person breaks up with their significant other after seeing texts from someone of the opposite sex. However, it turns out the texts were just from a family member. To justify their decision to break up, they tell themselves their partner was a horrible person anyway. This case has lead to a decision made rashly that had poor consequence. It is associated with poor decision making skills.

There's another reason why making decisions based on emotion and later justifying those decisions with logic is a poor decision making process. This is because it makes the person extremely biased in their justifications. In other words, it doesn't matter what decision he or she makes, they'll justify it in their head to free themselves of guilt or responsibility. Let's look at an example of infidelity again. In this case, one partner has been having an affair because he or she believed his or her partner was having an affair. They have justified this poor decision with this logic: "If my partner can have an affair, so can I." This shows extreme bias, since most people know cheating is wrong. This person is only looking to placate their guilt.

However, there are circumstances where making decisions based on emotion and justifying those decisions with logic could be a good decision making strategy. For instance, consider a person who has great intuition, and is quick to react under pressure and emotion. If a person works as a firefighter, which requires quick reactions under pressure, they may have to make decisions based on emotion instead of rationally thinking out a solution beforehand. In this case, they will later be able to logically justify their living-saving decisions.

Most poor decisions based on emotion and justified with logic are made by poor decision makers. However, people who consistently make beneficial decisions based on emotions would be able to logically justify them, as well as being considered a good decision maker.