An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author of the argument concluded new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A will surely decline deficiency among people in the nation tagus.At first glance, this conclusion appears to be true however further reflection revels that statement omit substantial concerns to be addressed, And thus not cogent enough to substantiate the conclusion.

Firstly, the author states that an international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A.however author did not provide cogent statistics about how many people are suffering from deficiency of vitamin A. moreover, the author does not provide any evidence to support his view. it might possible that people who are suffering from deficiency of vitamin A is mainly due to bad heath or is equally possible that most of the people are in the age group of 50 to 80 and in this age group people might have deficiency of vitamin A and no medicine can cure it. however, if author provide more information about deficiency among people in nation of tagus. it will might make his statement valid.

Secondly, the author states that while seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. however, author does not provide any significant information about the cost of new breed of millet. it might possible that even if farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet he will be not interested to cultivate that new breed of millet. further, Its equally possible if farmers are ready to cultivate the new breed of millet but millet can only be cultivated in particular season which may result in loss in farmer annual income.if the author provide more information about weather millet is seasonal or not and also weather it will profit farmer or not than it will make author statement cogent.

Thirdly, the author assume that people will readily adopt the new variety . To support his assumption he states that Since millet is already a staple food in tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety.however, author did not provide any evidence about whether people adoption of new variety which makes the author assumption unreliable.

By considering the discussion above it can be seen that the reason mentioned are not enough to support author suggestion. The argument loses weight because it has no explanation for the discussion given above.The author of the argument concluded new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A will surely decline deficiency among people in the nation tagus.At first glance, this conclusion appears to be true however further reflection revels that statement omit substantial concerns to be addressed, And thus not cogent enFirstly, the author states that an international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A.however author did not provide cogent statistics about how many people are suffering from deficiency of vitamin A. moreover, the author does not provide any evidence to support his view. it might possible that people who are suffering from deficiency of vitamin A is mainly due to bad heath or is equally possible that most of the people are in the age group of 50 to 80 and in this age group people might have deficiency of vitamin A and no medicine can cure it. however, if author provide more information about deficiency among people in nation of tagus. it will might make his statement valid.

support author suggestion. The argument loses weight because it has no explanation for the discussion given above.