An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument stated has numerous stated and unstated assumptions starting from many people have deficiency in vitamin A in nation of Tagus to ending with Vitamin A deficiency is a prime issue than any other problem of the nation, to have government involved in promoting of new type of millet. Hence, I would like to disagree that this argument has sufficient information in order to have a conclusion stated.

Argument says people in the nation of Tagus have deficiency in Vitamin A. But it doesn't say how many people or what percentage of people have this type of deficiency. If only few people in nation of deficiency of Vitamin A, then new breed of millet developed by International development organization may not be valued high by government.

Suppose, if considerable portion of people are suffering from Vitamin A deficiency, then the reason for such deficiency is not being discussed. For all of them a new breed may not be helpful, for example if Vitamin deficiency is due to some genetic disorder and if it cannot be recovered then supporting for new breed of millet may not be useful.

The stated argument also makes an unstated assumption that any farmer who will be given subsidiary to grow new breed of millet will be enthusiastic in farming new breed. But this may not be the case for all farmers. Some of the farmers may be happy with their farming and they may be immutable to the change. Stating that Tagus nation is impoverished it is not sufficiently said that farmers may farm new breed because of its high cost.

Also, just because millet is already a staple food in Tagus, it is not necessary that people will also buy this new breed of millet. Millet already in use and new type of millet may be different. People may reject it due to high cost. Also, people may not get adopted easily to new breed and thus there are chances of refusing new breed of millet.

Finally, Argument states that government of Tagus should do everything to promote new type of millet. This conclusion is based on numerous assumptions. It is by assumption that deficiency of Vitamin A is the most important issue of the nation. There may also be other issues of nation on which government has to focus. Thus this argument is not sufficient to have a strong conclusion.