An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Questions that would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result can be broadly divided into three sections - Questions regarding the organization that has developed the breed, the breed and its usage and the procedure after the millet is harvested. I will discuss a few questions from each section.

In the first section, I think the most important question would be about how the government of Tagus is supposed to source the seeds of the new breed from the organization? It is important to answer this question in order to understand the terms under which a deal would be made and whether the nation has the capability and resources for fulfilling them since it is impoverished. It would further help the government and the organization to negotiate . Hence, it would be important to evaluate ways in which the organization can contribute to spreading and encouraging people to adapt to the new breed. This would reduce the load on the government and a collaborative approach could be taken up to help attain the stated goal. The government would also need to evaluate what kind of quantity would be required by the country so that the new variety reaches all citizens.

The second section of questions would be of the most significance. They are as follows - what are the environmental, procedural requirements for the crop to grow with a high yield and of good quality? The information provided by the answer to this question would help the government assess whether they have the resources for it and if farmers would need guidance on how to grow the variety. What is the environmental impact of growing the new breed> Whether growing it now has any lasting damage on the soil? Historically we have seen that even if such breeds provide relief in the short-term, the log-term consequences can create a lot of issues for a nation's future. Thinking with a longer timeframe in mind could help reduce such problems that could occur in Tagus' future.

The third section primarily deals with the governments' capability of getting the millet to all citizens and ensuring that it is incorporated in their staple meals. How would the supply chain starting from harvest to getting millet on the table of all individuals be designed and implemented? While millet is already a part of the staple diet of the citizens are there any changes, particularly in taste, that could result in a decrease in consumption and how to account for and promote its incorporation regardless? Considering the answers to these questions beforehand could help the government prepare and troubleshoot the process so as to make it a smooth transition to ensure that vitamin A deficiency is eradicated from Tagus' individuals.