People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A few questions that come to mind in order to determine whether someone who makes decisions based on emotion and justifies them with logic is a poor decision maker are as follows -

What are the emotions under which the individual is making the decision and to what degree are they feeling said emotions? It is important to ask this question because the emotions felt by an individual are important factors which influence decision making but if they are felt in excess and then guide the decisions it is likely that they haven't thought about it even a little bit which could mean that they are indeed poor at making decisions. For example, when a decision is made purely out of anger it can result in serious harm not only to others but oneself but a decision simply guided by slight anger could result in one standing up for oneself in certain situations. Secondly, what is the context in which the decision is being made? This could help determine whether the emotions were justified helping us understand and define when the emotions felt are 'excessive'.

What is their goal when they are justifying the decisions with logic later on? Is it to convince themselves or others? Many a times, gut feelings can guide the individuals decision but it is hard to convince others about the decision just on the basis of that feeling. Therefore, rationalizing the decision could help convince others, whether they are stakeholders or not about it. If the logic is being used to convince themselves, it would be important to evaluate how far are they going in terms of reasoning out their decision. Solid logic could help affirm to themselves that the decision they have made makes sense whereas making leaps and bounds simply to justify their choice would imply whether they are poor decision makers.