"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims a jazz music club if it is built in Monroe would be profitable enterprise because there no jazz club near 65 miles, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe, and jazz musical radio named ‘jazz nightly’ is the highest-rated. Stated in this way the argument does not mention several key factors, based on which we can test it. The conclusion of the argument hinges on assumptions of which there is no lucid evidence. Hence the argument is unconvincing and the author should mention the following factors to make it stronger.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that Jazz music would be tremendously profitable since the nearest jazz music club is 65 away from Monroe. The argument is stretched and not substantive, anyway. The author makes a mistake here not mention there is any music club in Monroe, what is there a financial situation or people are interested in music. It can happen that the nearest jazz music club which is 65  miles away people of there is interest in music, the city is developed, they love to listen to music, or only the music is the source of entertainment. That is way Jazz is popular there. In addition, there is no other music club than jazz. The argument would have been much clearer if it clearly explains the overall circumstance of Monroe.

Secondly, the argument claims that jazz is extremely popular in mornoe since the over 100,000 people attended the Jazz music festival last month. This is again weak and unsupported claim because the author does not mention any statistic about mornoe what is the total people of Monroe. If the total people of mornoe is 10000000 million and only 100000 people attended in jazz music club which is 10% of total people of mornoe. So it will not be a wise decision to take a decision to rely on only 10% people.

Thirdly, the final argument which has also some lacking is that jazz music radio “ jazz Nightly”. There is no clear evidence that Jazz nightly is popular in mornoe. We  cannot compare a musical club with its radio. It can happen that Jazz nightly programs are more interesting and it is aired at 7 pm which may be vocational time.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. To make the argument more strong, the author must have to mention all of the relevant factors about the financial situation, population, musical interest of the people of Monroe. Without this information, the argument remains unbelievable and open to debate.