A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment.

In this argument, the arguer recommends that establishing a jazz music club, C Note, in Monroe can bring in a considerable amount of money. To support this recommendation, that arguer points out that 1) the closest jazz club at this moment is 65 miles away 2) jazz music is fairly popular in Monroe 3) according to a nationwide study, jazz fans spend a good amount of money on jazz entertainment every year. This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

To start with, the arguer points out that the closest jazz club at this moment is 65 miles away from the city of Monroe. Hence, he straightly declares that once C Note is established in Monroe, it will have the local market all to itself. However, let us give it a second thought: if the arguer believes that C Note will have the local market all to itself, he must support that customers value distance more than any other elements. Actually, there are many other elements and conditions will vary people’s choice of jazz club besides distance. For instance, if a jazz fan built up his friend circle in other jazz clubs, then he is less likely to choose C Note instead. A further investigation on what are the major elements and conditions that customers consider before consuming is needed before the arguer can sweep out the doubt whether C Note will have the local market all to itself.

Further, the arguer points out that jazz music is fairly popular in Monroe. Nevertheless, here lies a flaw in the arguer’s assumption: “Jazz Nightly” is the highest-rated radio program in Monroe every weeknight. Basically, it is highly possible that “Jazz Nightly” is not the highest-rated radio program every weekend night when most people get to enjoy their favorite program. If the arguer can present a survey shows “Jazz Nightly” is the highest-rated or top-rated radio program every weeknight and weekend night, then we can have a more precise picture of the feasibility of this recommendation of this conclusion.

Even assuming that C Note will have the local market all to itself and jazz music are fairly popular in Monroe, the arguer fails to consider Monroe’s local condition rather than nation. Essentially, in his assumption exists a noticeable flaw: according to a nationwide study, jazz fans spend a good amount of money on jazz entertainment every year. To be specific, this is a general study among the whole nation instead of a study that deals with the city of Monroe specifically while considering the local condition in Monroe. Therefore, without ruling out such possibility, the arguer cannot simply assume that jazz fans in Monroe spend $1000 every year on jazz entertainment.

In conclusion, to persuade us that a jazz music club, C Note, in Monroe can bring in a considerable amount of money, the arguer must supply clear evidence that when it comes to choosing jazz clubs, people in Monroe prefer close distance than everything else, jazz music is extremely popular in Monroe, and jazz fans in Monroe will spend a good amount of money on jazz entertainment, especially inside of a jazz club. If the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been, so at least it seems to me, more thorough and logically acceptable.