"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The developer’s application for a new Jazz club in Monroe is not comprehensive enough. The report makes several assumptions, basing its conclusion on illogical reasoning and unreliable facts, reflecting a dearth of detailed analysis.

Firstly, the group of developers make an assumption that setting up of a new Jazz club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise. They however fail to shed light on the methods by which a Jazz club would become highly profitable. The application must have included a brief description of a business plan, with outlined profit margins. A survey of the residents of Monroe about their taste in music, besides tracking the footfall of Monroe residents in the nearest Jazz club, will provide a clearer picture whether Jazz club will indeed be a profitable venture. A demographic survey of all age groups will undoubtedly help to decide which category welcomes and is fond of Jazz music.

Secondly, the application wrongly assumes that the appearance of a hundred thousand people in the last annual jazz festival defines the parameters of popularity of Jazz music in Monroe. It may be that the annual jazz festival is the only big event occurring in the city; and moreover, it is unclear whether Monroe's residents, or people from other places attended the festival. In order to rightly assess the popularity of jazz music, the developers must undertake a study on the survey of the rising trends in music among Monroe's habitants, the average annual sale of the jazz music cds and the online sale of jazz music. Such detailed survey will be the perfect instrument to understand the future trends of popularity of jazz in Monroe.

Thirdly, Monroe being the home town to several well-known jazz players does not reflect that the residents have an inclination towards jazz music as it is nowhere mentioned whether these musicians perform in Monroe, or how popular they are among the people. Nevertheless, basing the application on the fact that the highest rated radio program "Jazz Nightly" is not conclusive enough. The developers should go an extra mile to find whether Jazz is as popular on televisions and in the internet media, as it is on radio. Finally, Monroe alone does not reflect the music habits of an entire nation. It may be possible that several other forms of music are as or even popular than Jazz. Had the developers provided a comparative study on the amount spend by music fans on various genres of entertainment, the argument would have been more cogent.

The developer’s application should thus be revised by incorporating detailed surveys and filling in the loopholes - only then should a loan be sanctioned.