"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popul

The argument is based on unwarranted facts and assumptions. Although it looks appealing in the first glance that, due to people having large interest in Jazz and Jazz club being 65 miles away from Monroe, it would be a tremendously profitable enterprise, but the argument is rife with holes and is flawed for numerous reasons. The argument fails to mention about the actual interest of the Monroe people and gives a general typical jazz fan spending. Furthermore, the argument provides vague information regarding the attendants at Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer.

Primarily, the argument cites that as thr nearest jazz club is 65 miles away from Monroe, and so if one of them opens in Monroe it would have all local market and would be a profitable business. The argument here assumes that most of the people of Monroe have great interest in Jazz and are ready to spend money for jazz music club. To support this assumption the argument provides vague information regarding the interest of Monroe people towards Jazz music by mentioning that 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer. The argument here provide no clear valid justified information regarding how many people actually from Monroe attended that festival. Had the argument has provided the lucid information about the actual numbers than it would have been easier to render a definite conclusion. Even then, getting information regarding the actual attendants, it could not be determined clearly about the actual interest of peole towards jazz club as they are different from festivals.

The argument assumes that as highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. than it would be profitable to open a Jazz club. The argument here provides no valid information regarding the income of neither the Monroe people nor their willingness to spend money on the Jazz cafe. May be most of the people loved listening to Jazz Nightly program on radio but they have no interest in going to Jazz cafes. Moreover even if most of them want to go to Jazz club but are they wealthy enough to afford going to Jazz club. The argument here provides no essential information about these essential parameters.

Furthermore, the argument cites that nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment so it would be a profitable business in Monroe to open Jazz club. The argument assumes that if nationwide jazz fans spend so much money than similarly Monoroe people would also spend that much money on Jazz. The argument here neglects the possibility that though Monroe people have great interest in Jazz music but they may be poor and not financially strong enough to afford going to Jazz clubs. The argument here also provide vague fact of the study that $1000 is spent by an individual on Jazz entertainment but no clear information is provided regarding their spending on Jazz clubs.

The conclusion of the argument rests on assumptions for which there is no valid evidence. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions fail to hold true then the argument completely falls apart. Hence the argument is unconvincing, flawed and open to debate.