Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that by installing high intensity lighting in city of amburg, crime will get reduced. this argument doesnot make a cogent case for installing high intensity lighting throughout the city of amburg. but is easy to understand that by installing high intensity lighting, crime will get reduced. but, this argument is rife with holes, and thus, not strong enough support the author's assumption that by installing high intensity lighting vanadalism activity will get reduced. I think that there may be some hidden factors that may claim author's assumption invalid. hence the author's argument is not reliable.

First of all, the argument here readily assume that as city of belleville installed high intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of amburg should install high intensity lighting throughout amburg and as a result crime will get reduced. this is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For eg, it may be possible that installing high intensity lighting is only one of the factors and there may be some other factors including high intensity lighting such as recently city of belleville has passed new law that states, if any one found guilty of vandalism, he/she will get harsh punishments or may be life in prison. As a result people are more aware and avoid involving in such activities. it may equally possible that belleville city is already a crime free city` and there may be some other purpose for installing high intensity lighting. However author did not provide more information on from how much percent crime or vandalism activities get reduced. it may be possible that it is only of negligible percent which is actually meaningless. hence the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitely states that whether installing high intensity lighting in only a factor that leads to reduced crime.

Second, the argument here states that by installing high intensity lighting throughout amburg, it will be more effective way to combat crime. this again is a weak and unsupported claim as it doesnot demonstate any clear correlation between high intensity lighting and reduce in vandalism activities. it may be possible that what works for belleville city may not work for amburg city or it may eqaully possible that even by installing high intensity lighting crime is not declining. if the had provided evidence or more information that how high intensity lighting will lead to reduce vandalism activities. Then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that if it provide little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects and raises several skeptical questions. For eg, what is a correlation between high intensity lighting and reduced in crime? what work for city belleville will also definately work for city amburg? what is actual percent decrease in vandalism activities in belleville city? without convincing answers to this question the reader is left with the impression that the claim made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpervasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by the detailed analysis of whether by installing high intensity lighting, crime will get reduced it would be necessary to know more infomation about how by installing high intensity lighting, crime will get reduced. hence, the conclusion drawn in the argument cannot regarded as fact until the stated assumption and questions are addressed.