In the last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by candidate Miller. Subsequently, candidate Keating won the election by a narrow margin.

This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the incerpt, it is stated that candidate Miller needs to focus more on the topic of preserving the natural environment in order to increase the probability of him winning. This possibility is considered due to the fact that candidate Keating closed the gap substantially by focusing on this specific topic. However, before this assumption can be given any credence, two assumptions must be rectified.

The assumption that the topic of preserving the natural environment will have the same effect as it did in the previous year is naive. As the topic has already been covered, it loses it peculiarity which was the primary reason it had a substantial effect.

The coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T may have worked for candidate Keating as it had been blatantly ignored by candidate Miller. The likelihood of this strategy working for candidate Miller only increases if it is certain that the same topic would not be covered by any other candidate. This does not inherently mean that following the same path will lead to success as it only worked for candidate Keating due to the fact that this topic was novel.

As the topic had such an impact on the general consensus, it might be plausible that the citizens of Town T expect this topic to be covered and this in turn causes the topic to lose its essence.