Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Students are at their prime of being shaped and moulded to be better suited for their future during their adolescence in school. Teachers play an integral role in this. The prompt suggests that schools should be more inclined to teaching students aspects of life which are beyond academic purposes. I strongly agree with this for the following two reasons.

"Mitochondria is the powerhouse of the cell" - this infamous scientific fact is deep-rooted in our minds during our schooling period which benefits to none in our quotidian lives. Although people might argue that it helps in laying a strong base for the students who wish to pursue science as a major, it renders as a useless fact to others. Academic studies will have unquestioned importance at any instance of time, but it can certainly be balanced out by teaching students aspects of adulthood beyond books whose utility is much higher. For instance, a student might benefit a lot more by understanding how to file for taxes on his/her own rather than being taught how it works. Schools should rather focus on introducing a broad variety of academic topics to students and teach practical aspects of it. The student can, later on, focus on an individual academic topic of his/her inclination to explore it beyond the practical utility of it. Thus striking a balance between academic and non-academic aspects should be considered in such scenarios.

Academics can play a very helpful role for bright students who can consider themselves as having a clear path in pursuing the same in their adulthood. But it might not be the case for the entire mass. A student who excels in archery might not be inclined to study the intricacies of how "nuclear fission" works. It would benefit that student more if he/she focuses on improving his/her skills to ensure success in archery which in turn might have a good impact in shaping the future of that student. Focusing just on academics hinders the growth of such students who don't fall in general group.

It might be considered that some may argue that reducing academic importance in school would have a negative impact on the number of students focusing on majoring in a certain field. It is far more important to have a flexible curriculum based on the student as it ensures that more students walk out of school well prepared with non-academic aspects of life.