From Managing director of buckingham college.To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus

A memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham college has an argument that fails for multiple reasons. The director makes several assumptions that in order to meet the needs of students, there should be new dorms which will attract more students to apply and enroll to the college.

First, the memo states that in order for housing needs of students are met, there should construction of new number of dorms. The director does not state why building new dorms will meet the housing needs of students. Have students been asked? Did he do a survey? How did he conclude that new dorms are needed? Is it already crowded and there is no space for students who want to live on campus? In order to meet the needs of students, it is important to know more about what they think or to understand the current situation with the dorms.

Furthermore, the reason behind building new dorms is due to the fact that recently enrollment is growing. The argument fails to further back up his assumption that in 50 years the number of enrollment students will double. It could be that recently, maybe just during this year, there was more students enrolled than usual. Does number of enrollment equal number of students who live on campus? If there is more students that enroll, that doesn’t necessarily mean they will dorm. Depending where the campus is located, students can commute to campus.

Next, the director states that average off-campus apartments rent has risen, making it harder for students to live off campus. Though, there are student living off campus and they are paying more rent, students may not be living on campus because it is more expensive. Dorming at college campuses is more expensive than renting an apartment near campus. If Buckingham College decides to build new apartment, they’re more likely to be more expensive than living off campus. We can’t assume that because there will be more and new apartments, students living off-campus will move in to the dorms, chances are not likely new dorms will more likely be more expensive. Also, we can’t infer that because there are new dorms in Buckingham College, more students will enroll to the college.

Lastly, the memo of the director fails to prove his argument that building new dorms will meet the needs of students at Buckingham College for a numerous number of assumptions. New dorms does not mean the needs of students are met, that more students living off-campus will move to on-campus, and that more students will enroll.