Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggest that the lives of people can be saved to more extent if the innoculations against cow flu are routinely administered to all people in the areas where the disease is detected. However, since the number of cases where death was caused by innoculations to the flu exist in some number it would be unjust to carry out such measures.

Firstly, the argument is unlcear as it mentions 'Many poeple might be saved' and also 'there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the innoculations' The two statements are contradicting to one another. One mentions significant number of deaths due the lack of innoculations while other ascribe innoculations as the cause of death. Had there been some specific numbers, or percentages of people died due to the cause the argument would be more plausible.

Secondly, the argument suggest routine administration of innoculations to areas where the disease is detected. There is no data so as to how much of the area where the disease was detected has been harmed by the disease. If there is little or no harm there is no need of regular displatch of the innoculations. While on the other hand if the harm is more the routine administration of innoculations might be helpful. Ther is no data about the etxent of harm the disease has caused in te areas it was detected. The author could have provided more such data to make the argument even more sound.

Thirdly, there is no surity about whether the innoculations were actually helpful. It might have happened that the innoculations those were sent didn't prove much useful rather some other method helped in cure of the disease. So even if the innoculations are routinely administered, we cannot guarantee the fruitfulness of such regular administration. Had the author ,mentioned the success rates of the provided innoculation the idea of regular adminstration of the innoculations would seem appealing. But since there is no such data, it leaves the argument weak.

Also, the argument stated that there is a small possibiltiy of death due to innoculation so they cannot permit the innoculations against cow flu to be circulated routinely. We do not how small is the possiblity. If the case might be 1 in a 100 that a vaccine lead to death of the diseased the figures are acceptable beacause the number of relieved people are significantly greater. And so that shouldn't stop the innocluations from being routinely administered to the

affected areas. If that happens there would be more deaths due to lasck of the innoculations than there would be due to effect of the innoculations. Had there been a ration of peopple cured by the innoculations to the ones whose condition worsened due to it the argumnent would be more cogent.

Hence the argument of author could have been more convincing has he provided with some actual cases or figures realting to the disease and the effect of innoculations in the areas affected by the disease.